How to style short hair

How to style short hair

Since I have short hair, there’s not a lot of styles I can create compared to all you can do with long hair. However after having shorter hair for a couple years now, I’ve discovered several styles that work really well with my short hair. If you’re in the same boat, hopefully you’ll find them helpful! They’re also super quick and easy to do and gives just the right amount of change to your regular ‘do!

First of all if you’re interested in getting my haircut, I showed this image to my hairdresser. It’s a bob so it’s a little shorter in the back and a little longer in the front. It has also grown out a bit since I got it cut so as you can see, it now hits just past half-way down my neck.

1. Top knot

I love throwing my hair up into a top knot on those days when I’m at home and want something neat and tidy that’s out of my face or when I’m going out and don’t want to put too much effort into doing my hair. To achieve this super quick up-do, gather the top half of your hair and twist it into a knot then secure it with a hair tie or a pin.

5 ways to style short hair

2. Messy waves

This is probably my favourite short hair style to wear. Messy waves can so easily be dressed up or dressed down. I also love the look of it on the second day. Here is a video tutorial on how to achieve a similar look to mine!

5 ways to style short hair

3. Accent braids

Accent braids are your best friend when it comes to styling short hair. One of my favourite ways to incorporate a braid into my hair is by french-braiding the top section of my hair and fastening it in the back with bobby pins. Instead of pinning it in the back, you could also throw it into a top knot. Here is another favourite tutorial of mine that uses braids and you can get some more ideas here and here!

5 ways to style short hair

4. Switch up your parting

Another super quick way to change up your hairstyle is by simply changing your parting! It’ll give you a whole new look. No tutorial needed. 🙂

5 ways to style short hair

5. Add a hair accessory

Another quick way to spice up your usual hairstyle is by adding an accessory! My favourite hair accessories are pretty hairbands. There are a ton of cute handmade ones available for purchase on Etsy as well as a couple of my favourites from Anthropologie (like this one and this one)!

5 ways to style short hair

What are some of YOUR favourite ways to style short hair?

Signature

3 thoughts on “How to style short hair

Share your thoughts

