Gratitude & Acceptance / Yoga Camp

Yoga Camp Postcard

Last year I became very interested in yoga and decided to look up some videos on YouTube to try it out. That’s when I stumbled across Adriene from Yoga with Adriene.

One year ago she had a series called 30 Days of Yoga where she challenged her students to make yoga a part of their daily lives by uploading a yoga practice every day for the month of January. This is what got me hooked and motivated to keep returning to my mat every day.

Now I can’t start a day without yoga. By waking up early to spend time stretching and praying, I’ve got into the routine of dedicating the first hour of my day to spend with God and take care of my body.

So when Adriene announced that she would be doing another 30 day yoga challenge this year, I was stoked!

But this year, Adriene is challenging her students to not only be healthy physically but to also be healthy mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. Every day she is introducing a new mantra or affirmation to teach us to think positive and uplifting thoughts and to love ourselves for who we are – and might I add – for who God made us to be!

So I decided to write down my thoughts after each practice here on the blog to share what I’ve been learning and to have a place where I can come back to later in life to be reminded of the journey I’m on!

Since there wasn’t a yoga practice for today, I decided to do some yoga for gratitude instead since this is a new year and I think it’s most appropriate to start it in gratitude. This actually ended up fitting so perfectly with tomorrow’s mantra I accept and it got me thinking.

I realized that acceptance and gratitude come hand in hand. If we cannot accept ourselves, our lives, and the things that happen to us, how can we be grateful? The first step to becoming grateful people is to first become accepting people. The Bible tells us to “give thanks in all circumstances” and the only way we can do that is to first accept the circumstances that we are faced with – that it is “God’s will for [us] in Christ Jesus” – and only then can we give thanks. If we live life resenting ourselves, our lives, or the things that happen to us, we will become ungrateful people who think toxic thoughts and have a negative outlook on life. And that is opposite to what we’re trying to accomplish here!

So I challenge you all today to be accepting and grateful.

And if you’d also like to be challenged physically, try the yoga for gratitude practice below!

Interested in joining me in this 30 day yoga challenge? Sign up here! And for more information, watch the video below!

What are your thoughts on this?

2 thoughts on “Gratitude & Acceptance / Yoga Camp

Share your thoughts

