I Awaken / Yoga Camp Day 4

tree pose

I enjoy a good sun salutation every once in a while. It’s nice to get into a repetitional flow and break out into a little sweat. For more sun salutation practices, try out Adriene’s sun salutation from last year’s 3o Days of Yoga, Surya Namaskara A, and Surya Namaskara B.

Now for today’s mantra I awaken. A sun salutation is great for when you want to awaken your body in the morning. But what about mentally, emotionally, spiritually? What do you want to awaken within yourself?

For me personally, I want to awaken my passion for God.

When I think back to those days where I was passionate about spending time with God and living for Him, reading my Bible everyday, and praying, I remember those were happy days. I was full of joy! Anything that came my way I was able to respond in a way pleasing to Him.

But lately my relationship with God has been suffering. I don’t have the same passion for Him that I once did. And I’ve felt the effects of it. I feel distant from Him. I feel it in my relationships with others.

One thing I knew I didn’t want to do was to put “do my devotions” on my to-do list. God shouldn’t be put on a list of things to do. We should spend time with Him because we truly want to. But the only way we can do that is to awaken our passion for Him. Think back to those days when you were on that mountain top!

I’ve found that this 30 day yoga challenge has really helped me come back to God. On day 1 I made a promise that I would use my practice not to focus on myself, but to focus on Him. To not get carried away by the shapes and movements but to stay mindful of Him and His work in my life.

So today, I choose to awaken that passion I once had for God.

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.” -John 15:1-5

What do YOU want to awaken?

2 thoughts on “I Awaken / Yoga Camp Day 4

  1. Just wanted to say that I’m a bit behind because I haven’t been feeling well since day 4, but thought I’d comment still. Once I’m better, I’ll proceed from where I left off with the exercises!

    ‘Awakening my passion for God’ is so simply put, yet so profoundly beautiful. I’m going to need to steal from you again, because that’s also my desire. It’s amazing to know that our Creator is so in love with us – so passionate about His relationship with us – even when it’s not mutual and when we’re so undeserving. I’m really just in awe of that.

Share your thoughts

