I Release / Yoga Camp Day 11

yoga camp postcard

I really enjoyed today practice. I mean I really really did. I feel like yoga is becoming something I do for myself because I want to instead of being a chore or something I need to check off my to-do list.

Lately I’ve been struggling with reading my Bible every day. Wouldn’t that be nice if it becomes something I do for myself because I want to, just like yoga? I’m sure with practice it’ll become like that. Maybe after yoga camp I should start Bible camp! 😉

Anyways, to today’s mantra. I release. Wow did that ever feel good during yoga! By releasing all of my stress, worry, and tension, I was able to fully enjoy my practice. Wouldn’t that be nice if we could always feel that way in life? But just as I can make reading my Bible something I want to do every day, we can be released of all our stress, worry, and tension every day!

Jesus said in Matthew 11:28, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

We’ve got a God who is in control of everything and He’s telling us to come to Him and release our burdens! Isn’t that actually so amazing and relieving?! We can leave it all up to Him!

And by releasing and letting go of the things that are hindering our effectiveness, we’ll become more – well – more effective people who are able to carry out the plans that God has for our lives. And we’ll be able to find joy! I mean who doesn’t want to be joyful all the time?! It’s so possible!

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to release.

What are you going to release?

4 thoughts on “I Release / Yoga Camp Day 11

  1. I want to release the burden of being an extreme people pleaser! Because really, (to say it bluntly) pleasing people to make me feel better about myself shouldn’t be my mission on this earth. In fact, it’s the opposite of what God wants for my life. Rather, I want to strive to remember that my identity is in my Creator, and He didn’t create me to please, but to be a blessing. I want my life to reflect my relationship with God, and I definitely don’t want to feel that I need to be accepted by the world, because then how can I have a thriving relationship with the one who has already accepted me for who I am, and who CREATED me to perfection in His eyes? Sadly though, it’s a slippery slope when an earthly picture of the “perfect body” exists, and the “perfect” brain – or when you’re defined as “smart” when you know certain things, or have a career in this or that.

    I’m not saying that people pleasing is a bad thing – it’s human nature. It’s just that it shouldn’t be a priority at all. And that’s ME talking to myself here! I’m discovering it makes a lot more sense once I write it out. 🙂

    1. Thank you for sharing what you want to release, Sharaya! This is something I struggle with too. One thing I like to keep in mind is this: Everyone has different expectations and there’s no way I’ll be able to meet them all. The only thing that matters is whether or not I’m pleasing God! 🙂

Share your thoughts

