I Deserve / Yoga Camp Day 13

tree pose

So yes, I’ve fallen behind in yoga camp again. Didn’t see that one coming, did you? 😉 But I’m still at it and I’m still enjoying it!

But you know how things always happen for a reason? Well, I think I fell behind exactly two days so that yesterday I could do day 13’s practice. Why? Because I needed a slow practice to sort out my body after I took a tumble down the stairs. Actually I rode half way down in a box and then tumbled the rest of the way.

Anyways, it’s amazing what yoga can do. I’ve heard so many stories about how yoga has helped people who have been in accidents. Well, it sure has helped me feel better!

I had a little trouble with the mantra I deserve. See the problem is that I couldn’t think of anything I deserve. You know why? Because tbh, I don’t deserve anything. In fact if there’s anything I deserve it’s death. Whoa Victoria. What are you talking about girl. Here, let me explain.

We are sinful human beings. And what is sin? Well, sin is the bad things we do. The things we’ve done that have hurt others and have hurt ourselves. But ultimately, they have hurt God because we’re sinning against Him. Against the rules He has placed on our lives to keep us safe. Against the way He designed us to be. And what does a criminal deserve? A penalty. In our case, the penalty for our sin is death. That’s why I said earlier that if there’s anything I deserve it’s death.

“For the wages of sin is death…”-Romans 6:23a

But you know what? God loves us – His creations, His children – so much despite our sin. He still wants to have a relationship with us and wants us to be with Him in heaven. But God is a just God. As a judge couldn’t pardon a guilty criminal, God can’t just pardon us. But there was a way He could satisfy the death penalty and that was through His son Jesus.

“For I, the LORD, love justice; I hate robbery and wrongdoing. In my faithfulness I will reward my people and make an everlasting covenant with them.” -Isaiah 61:8 

To satisfy that penalty, someone needed to die. But that someone had to be sinless or else they would be dying for their own sin and not for the sins of everyone else. Jesus was the only one who had never sinned because He’s God. But Jesus came to the world as a human being to take all our sins upon Himself and die to satisfy the penalty that we deserved.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” -John 3:16 

But because Jesus is God, He defeated death itself and rose again. Now all we have to do is accept this free gift that God has given to us – salvation – by believing in Jesus’ sacrifice and striving to live a sinless life. If we do this, we will be able to have a relationship with God and be with Him one day in heaven.

“If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” -Romans 10:9

See when you put it into perspective, you’ll find that we really don’t deserve anything. In fact, I deserve death but because I believe that Jesus has died for me, I am entitled to an eternal life in heaven with God. 

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” -Romans 6:23

Will you choose to accept this free gift? Or will you reject it and choose to accept your death penalty instead?

“Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life; whoever does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God remains on him.” -John 3:36

4 thoughts on “I Deserve / Yoga Camp Day 13

  1. I love this, Victoria! Thank you for sharing your honest thoughts on the mantra – it didn’t sit right with me either.

    It’s sad to me that so many people agree that God’s gift to us sounds way too simple, and reject it because of that. Or out of fear. Many people say “No one can forgive a sinner like me – it’s impossible”. How disheartening. When I share God’s invitation with someone, I want to make it clear that every single person on earth is equally undeserving of living life in eternity. AND that all sin is the same in God’s eyes. (Even though the mere thought of that is mind boggling and hard to accept for the human mind.) I can’t imagine living a life of genuine regret convincing myself that “I’m the worst human being alive” (ok, that may be a bit extreme, but any negative thoughts along those lines). Especially because the gift is for the ones who realize they’re sinful, are desperate for forgiveness, and who want to have a personal relationship with our Saviour. The people who are willing to accept that they are sinful people who need ultimate forgiveness are one step closer to receiving the gift, but the negative thoughts can’t keep dwelling on one’s mind and heart! It’s all about the heart attitude, and the genuine realization that we are sinful beings whom Jesus came to rescue by covering our natural death penalty by dying Himself. The gift is free. Hearts just need to be willing to accept the beautiful gift.

    1. Thank you so much for building on my post, Sharaya! This also reminds me about loving ourselves. As Christians we can truly love ourselves for who we are and how we are because, although we are sinful, we’ve been forgiven! 🙂

Share your thoughts

