I am Open / Yoga Camp Day 15

Yoga Camp Postcard

Woohoo I made it to the half way mark!

My sister joined me for today’s practice (yay!) and we had fun hanging onto each other during the balancing practices. 😉 I forgot how much fun it is to do yoga with other people! I’m definitely going to have to get some of my friends together to do a practice.

Today’s mantra got me thinking about honesty. When I think about being open, I think about speaking the truth without holding anything back. So I interpreted the mantra like this: I choose to be open and honest.

Honesty is something I have really had to dealt with this past year. I’ve always known that God commands us not to lie, but it never became real to me until last year.

It was the end of the school year and I was behind in Pre-calculus 11. I had been struggling through the last chapter and kept pushing it off. When my parents asked me if I was finished with all of my courses, I felt so tempted to lie that I was. The temptation was SO real! But I admitted that I still had Pre-calc to do. For the next several weeks I struggled both in math and within myself. I kept dwelling on thoughts like “Why didn’t I just lie and say I was done? Then I wouldn’t be in this situation!” and “There is NO benefit in telling the truth!” I kept asking God, “How is telling the truth the right thing to do?” And then He answered me.

One day my teacher sent me an e-mail telling me that he was exempting me from the test because I had worked so hard that year. My teacher exempted me from the test! That definitely isn’t something that happens every day. It was at that moment that I realized it: God rewards honesty!

I think this has been on my mind a lot lately because a couple days ago my dad was rewarded by being honest in business. God is reminding me time and time again that honesty is always the way to go.

And who ever feels good after telling a lie?! It’s going to come back and haunt you. I know my lies in the past have!

Let me leave you with one last piece of advice from Professor Dumbledore. 😉

“There will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”

Telling lies are easy. Being open and honest isn’t. But it’s what right and it’ll benefit you in the long run.

Have you had any encounters like this before?

Share your thoughts

