I am Focused / Yoga Camp Day 17

At first when Adriene mentioned the word “flow” I expected it to be a sun salutation kind of thing but instead it was a flow I’ve never done before. And I really enjoyed it! It helped me connect my breath and my movement and brought energy and focus to my body and mind.

What a great practice for the mantra I am focused. It was perfect timing because so far this week I’ve been having a hard time focusing. My mind is constantly wandering when it should be focused on the task that is before me.

During my practice, I pictured a camera. Its focus was set on its subject and everything else was blurred out. Everything in the background can only be blurred out if the camera is focused on one thing – its subject. It should be the same with my life. I realized that whenever I have trouble focusing, it’s because I’m trying to focus on too many things at once.

Another word for focus is center or focal point. There can only be one center or focal point so there can only be one focus.

The trick to being focused is to blur everything else out. When you’re faced with a specific task, choose not to think about anything else until that task is complete. You may have to remove yourself from distractions like your to-do list or your phone. And it’s helpful to find things that can help you focus like soft background music for example.

I know this is challenging when you’re faced with a task you’re not enjoying, but it needs to get done sooner or later! And my advice to you is this: Get it done sooner! Procrastination is NOT worth it in the end! Trust me, I’ve learned from experience. 🙂

When I am working on homework, I want to be fully focused on it in order to do my very best. When I am serving others, I want to be fully focused on them so that I can bless them. When I am reading my Bible, I want to be fully focused on what I am reading so that I can get the most out of what God has to tell me that day. I want to be able to pursue excellence in all that I put my mind to and by being focused I can do that. (Ecclesiastes 9:10, Colossians 3:23-24)

And if you’re really having trouble re-focusing, try taking a break by doing this yoga practice. 🙂

And if you want to train yourself to become more focused on the present, read this.

Do you sometimes have trouble focusing? How do you re-focus?

Share your thoughts

