I Respect / Yoga Camp Day 19

It feels like it’s been a while since I’ve done a more work-out type yoga practice that actually made me sweat! It felt really nice to tap into the core a bit more as well as build strength in other areas. I really pushed myself to my limit!

I really liked today’s mantra. I respect. When I think of respect, I usually think of respecting others but it’s never occurred to me that I should also respect myself.

Google defines respect as “a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements”.

There are a lot of people I look up to and respect. All of these people have attractive personalities and are very talented and successful individuals. I often compare myself to them and look down on myself for not being good enough. This results in a lot of negative self-talk and discouragement.

While I was at Missions Fest last weekend, someone shared their testimony and it really spoke to me. He said something along the lines of “I may not be as good at (fill in the blank) as someone else but all that matters is that I give my 100%”.

Another quote I always remind myself of is “Don’t compare your chapter 1 to someone else’s chapter 20”.

It’s fine to have someone to look up to and respect, but we shouldn’t get carried away with all of their accomplishments. I mean, I’m sure you can think of a time when you were proud of yourself for accomplishing some pretty awesome stuff. 🙂

Let’s start respecting ourselves and stop comparing our abilities, qualities, or achievements to others!

I choose to respect myself. Do you?

2 thoughts on “I Respect / Yoga Camp Day 19

Share your thoughts

