I am Secure / Yoga Camp Day 23

I loved all the warriors, planks, and twists in this practice! It really made me miss the “warrior dances” from earlier on in camp!

I also want to bring up the fact that you can buy yoga camp t-shirts! Who doesn’t buy a t-shirt after a week (or month!) of camp? If you’re interested in pre-ordering one, make sure you do it before February 9th (which is tomorrow!) to save $6!

Okay I’m done advertising. Let’s move on to today’s mantra now, shall we?

I am secure. Ooh that’s a good one. If none of the other mantras have really spoken to you yet, I’m sure this one has! Insecurity is something everyone struggles with whether it’s noticeable or not.

Let me offer you some food for thought like what Adriene did today in her email.

Secure means to be “fixed or fastened so as not to give way, become loose, or be lost”. So to be insecure means the opposite – to “give way”.

We all have a desire to please others and feel good about ourselves. But sometimes that can lead to becoming someone we’re not to win others’ approval, lead us to put others down to make ourselves feel good, or lead us to sit in a corner and sulk because “I suck”.

Who wants to be secure and live a life of integrity? *puts up my hand*

First I must secure my heart.

I am wonderfully and fearfully made by a loving God. He made me unique and special. So if I’m so cool already, why do I try to be someone I’m not? And why do I have to put others down or see someone fail in order to feel better about myself?

Secondly, I must free myself from other people’s judgements.

Galatians 1:10 says, “For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Everyone has different expectations of me and I couldn’t possibly meet them all. But God’s expectations are always the same because He never changes and His expectations are what matters because they will shape me into becoming a better, happier person.

Thirdly, I must shake it off.

Taylor Swift is right. Those haters are gonna hate. But in order to maintain my security, I must shake off those doubts and mean remarks and cling to what’s ultimately true. (Throw it back to point 1!)

It takes work to train our minds to think this way. And it’s even harder to live it out. But achieving a secure and authentic life is possible! Remember, with God all things are possible! (Philippians 4:13)

Also, read this. It talks about confidence.

What do you think? Do you feel secure?

Share your thoughts

