I am in Control / Yoga Camp Day 24

I like how we focused a little more on deep stretching today while also working on toning and building strength. If we did this practice every day, we’d all have really nice booties by the time summer rolls around! 😉

I am in control. Hmm this mantra didn’t quite resonate with me. I think it’s because as a Christian, I know that I’m not in control of anything. Not even myself. While I have the power to make my own choices, I don’t have control over the outcome of those choices. Only God does. And boy am I glad He’s the one in control and not me!

This reminds me of day 14’s mantra “Go with the flow” when I learned to let go and let God take the reigns. Now 10 days later, I can see how I’ve changed. Now I’m no longer going against the flow and fighting God for control, but instead I’ve let Him take control of my life and I feel peace! Peace that no matter what happens, I don’t have to worry or be afraid.

Now if I was in control, I honestly think everything would fall apart. How can one be in control of every aspect of their life and the outcome of every decision they make?

However, because I do have a free will and the ability to make choices, there is some degree of control I’ve been given. Although I can’t control the results of my decisions, I can control which decision I make. And that’s where something called self-control comes in.

Self-control is defined as “the ability to control oneself, in particular one’s emotions and desires or the expression of them in one’s behavior, especially in difficult situations”.

One of the fruits of the Spirit is self-control. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control…” (Galatians 5:22-23) 2 Timothy 1:7 says, “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.” 

Personally I would translate the mantra as I am self-controlled. I want to be able to control my emotions, desires, and behaviours as it will affect the choices I make and the person I become.

What does the mantra mean to you?

Share your thoughts

