Winter weekend getaway packing list

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This weekend I’m going away on a winter retreat with my youth group! We do it every year and this is my fourth time going.

Over the years I’ve learned how to pack light and efficiently. I went from taking along the largest duffle bag I could find to the smallest one I could find.

I wanted to share my packing process here on the blog for those of you who want to learn how to pack lighter or for those of you who will be going away for the weekend as well!

Clothing

How to pack light

I used to always pack entire outfits for each day I was away. But that meant bringing a lot of clothes for just one weekend. So instead, I now pack very versatile pieces that I can mix and match to create several outfits from just a few pieces of clothing.

For this weekend, I packed only one sweater, one flannel, and one tee. These pieces are all great for layering or can all be worn on their own.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also packed only one pair of jeans and one pair of leggings. Jeans can easily be worn a couple days in a row while the leggings provide a cozier alternative.

I’m also bringing along a parka, one pair of boots, my Keds, some socks, and under garments.

Beauty

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m also bringing a very minimal amount of beauty products – only the basic essentials. That includes my toothbrush and toothpaste, deodorant, fragrance mist, and my skincare products which include a moisturizer (which can be used for hands, legs, etc.) cleanser, micellar water, and toner. I also recommend transferring your products into smaller travel-sized containers or buying your products in smaller travel-sized packaging.

I’m also bringing very minimal shower products which only includes a bar of soap and a razor. Since I’m not planning on washing my hair, I’m packing my favourite dry shampoo.

Other

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m also keeping everything else I pack to a minimum. Only the essentials I think I’ll really need like my camera, charger, etc.

This is the first time I’m NOT bringing my flat iron. Say whhhaat?! That’s right! I’ll straighten my hair before I leave and keep it tied up for the rest of the weekend. But if I really feel like straightening my hair while I’m away, I can always borrow a flat iron from someone else.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope this was helpful! If you have any questions for me, feel free to leave them in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Winter weekend getaway packing list

Share your thoughts

