Peek-a-boo Pocket DIY

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As the seasons change, I like to make some changes myself. I wanted to “springify” my wardrobe so I decided to DIY a fun peek-a-boo pocket onto a pair of my jeans and share it here on the blog! As this was my first time doing it, I had to retry many times to get it right. This tutorial will show you the best way to go about it. But “if at first you do not succeed, try, try again”! 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What you need: A pair of jeans, fabric of your choice, fabric scissors, fabric glue

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 1: Cut the fabric into a smaller piece (make sure it’s bigger than the piece pictured above – I cut mine a little too small) and place it over the pocket you want to DIY. Then with a pencil, trace out the shape using the groove of the pocket as a guide.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 2: Cut the fabric using the line as a guide to create the shape. Make sure you leave lots of excess at the bottom as the fabric will need to be longer so it goes deeper into your pocket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 3: Apply fabric glue to the back of the fabric. You can also apply it directly onto your jean pocket as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 4: Carefully position the fabric onto the space above/inside the pocket and wait until it dries before washing or putting on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(As you can probably tell in the picture, I didn’t cut the fabric big enough so there’s still some of the original jeans showing on the side. So don’t make this mistake! 🙂 )

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s your finished product! I hope you enjoyed this little DIY. If you try it, make sure to tweet me your photos so I can see them! You can find me on Twitter here.

Posted in DIY

2 thoughts on “Peek-a-boo Pocket DIY

Share your thoughts

