How to find your personal style using Pinterest

pin.png

I once had a friend complain to me that she was looking for some fashion inspiration and was in need of help. She was trying to figure out her style and decide what she wanted to buy for the fall. So I played “fashion consultant” and gave her some tips on how to find her personal style using my favourite tool – Pinterest.

I realized that a lot of people have a hard time pin-pointing what they call their personal style. I used to be there myself. So I thought I would share some tips that worked for me.

1. Know what you’re looking for

This is the first place you should start. Don’t already go ahead and start aimlessly browsing Pinterest. Ask yourself, “What am I looking for?” Some other good questions to ask yourself is, “How would I describe my personal style?” and “What works for my lifestyle?” For example, my friend wanted a classy style yet she wanted it to be suitable for casual day-to-day activities like going to school and hanging out with friends.

2. Pick some key words

Now that you have an idea of what you’re looking for, pick one or two key words that would best describe that style. In my friend’s case, those key words were “classy” and “casual”. Now take it to Pinterest. In the search bar, type in those key words followed by “fashion”. So my friend would have typed “classy casual fashion”. Now start scrolling through the results. Not exactly what you were looking for? Let Pinterest help you out. Above all of your results are some suggested key words. Play around them them. Switch em up. Eventually you’ll get what you were looking for.

3. Start pinning

Once you’ve found some pleasing results, create a board and start pinning! That way you can look back at your board and get fashion inspiration that is actually inspiring to you. Also make sure you pay attention to some repeating trends throughout your board. For example, my friend noticed that she was drawn to basics like stripes, solids, and blacks. She also noticed she needed to add a staple pair of flats to her wardrobe.


I hope you found this post helpful and share if you did! Got any more advice? Feel free to share in the comments below!

And don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest here!

2 thoughts on “How to find your personal style using Pinterest

Share your thoughts

